Thrift Store find to Plump Pumpkins

Happy Fall!  The chill is in the air here in  Mid-Maryland today.   The leaves are beginning to change and summer annuals are starting to fade.

Fall also brings us cornstalks, hayrides & pumpkins.    I’ve been admiring some great homemade pumpkins on Pinterest of course and thought I’d try my hand at making a few.    While making a visit to the local Thrift Store I found a wonderful ladies shirt made from  a corduroy velvety olive green fabric. These homemade pumpkins came to mind immediately.  So I paid my $3.81 for this little shirt (wishing it was an Xlg instead of small).  I was able to cut four pumpkins from it.   I’ve never been lucky enough to find nice new fabric at the Thrift Store but I have found some nice pieces of clothing to use for odd & end sewing projects.  You just have to have an open mind when looking through all the treasures.

Pumpkin 14 (1)   Pumpkin 14 (2)                           Pumpkin 14 (3)

So, I used the Plush Patchwork Pumpkin tutorial from Amy at  Positively Splendid.  It is easy to follow and they make up very quickly.  I used a heavy darning needle to pull twine thru the middle and knotted both ends tightly to draw pumpkin in.  Then the twine was sprayed with fabric starch and wrapped around a pencil until dry to make alittle sprig on top.  I used Amy’s template to cut out the burlap leaf and hot glued with a stick stem.

I was really happy with how they turned out. It’s always fun to construct something out of an entirely different item.     Hope you are able to find some treasures to turn into something fabulous.

pumpkin 14 (5)     pumpkin 14 (4)

Hope you have an great Fall.     Our Fall is starting out amazing –   Our Baltimore Orioles just swept the first round of playoffs and are heading to the American League Championship Series starting Friday!   Hope the magic continues right through to the World Series.

Take Care.

 

This entry was posted in Thrift Store Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment